EPIC Dark Angels – Army Pics

img_5141
3rd & 5th Companies of the Dark Angels Chapter, with Deathwing and Ravenwing support

Hey guys,

As some of you may know I have been painting up my Epic Dark Angels off and on for ages now. I painted a fair amount (mostly infantry) about two years ago, then slid away and stopped for ages. I recently picked them up again and painted some more for the Into the Breach tournament I went to, and that gave me the impetus to finally get them finished (3.5 years after I bought them…).

So, I am rather proud to present the fully painted army for you all. That’s 7,500pts of Dark  Angels, made up of the full 3rd and 5th Tactical Companies with support from the 1st Company Deathwing, the 2nd Company Ravenwing, and various tanks from the chapter Ironwing. It has pretty much got everything a Marine army can have, only missing a Thunderhawk Transporter from the available formations (hard to get hold of, not such a nice model imho, and I’m tactically unsure about it), and gives me the option to run a variety of different 3k or 4k lists.

img_5144
3rd Company in Drop Pods, with Deathwing and Ironwing support

I have really tried to go to town with this army, trying to do justice to the beautiful forumware models and sticking to the background of the Dark Angels. This does partly explain why the army has taken me so long to complete, but also it gives me an army whose paintjob I am reallly quite proud of. Adding the little grass tufts was the last step and  really sets off the darker palette of the bases and models, while I quite like the brighter tone of red that I used on them.

img_5143
5th Company in Rhinos, with support from the Ravenwing and the 10th Company Scouts

I think the time and attention has really paid off, and works well with the elite feel of Marine armies in EPIC. Just look at how few models make up 7,500pts, compared to say Orks or Imperial Guard, or even armies like Eldar. This highlights one of the reasons I love EPIC – the armies play and look like how they should do in the fluff. Marine armies are TINY in comparison to most other races, but still manage to throw their weight around!

A couple of things to add though – normally when playing Marines, you need some form of AA cover, provided by Thunderbolts. I already have a fair few painted Thunderbolts so these will sub in from my Imperial Guard army for now, though I would maybe consider trying to find some good Storm Talon or Xiphon Interceptor stand ins just to keep the Marine look. Another aspect is that most effective Marine army lists run with at least two Warhound Titans (they need the speed, firepower, and engagement triggering effectiveness of the the titans), and while I get kinda grumbly over this, I do eventually want to pick up two of the Forgeworld Warhound Titans to go with this army. Probably painted in a nice light gray and yellow Legio Gryphonicus scheme for contrast with the dark green and red marines.

I’ll be putting up some more posts in the near future showing some closer in pictures of the various formations, but if you click on these pics they do get bigger so go have a look. Otherwise I feel the army is done – all it needs now are a few more games to prove itself!

5 thoughts on “EPIC Dark Angels – Army Pics

    1. You should! It is an amazing feeling to have finally finished this. If you are anywhere near London, we can throw down 🙂

Leave a Reply

