40K – Yes, I actually played a game!

Hi guys,

A post to bring you up to date on the recent momentous event in my life – I actually played a game (my first in months!) and it was a great 40k clash between my Witch Hunters and the Astral Claws of Andy from Miniature Miscellany.

It was a nice simple 1,250pt game where we had both taken a selection of units – I took an Inquisitor Lord and Retinue, two units of Sisters, a Retributor Squad, a unit of Stormtroopers, and a Priest and some Arco-Flaggellants.

I hid my Arco's behind a Rhino and moved them up in response to Andy moving some marines forward
I hid my Arco’s behind a Rhino and moved them up in response to Andy moving some marines forward
Andy had placed some Devastators in the middle ruin and walked up a Dreadnought on each sid
Andy had placed some Devastators in the middle ruin and walked up a Dreadnought on each side
On the other flank, I placed my Retributors in a wood, and moved up some Sisters in a Rhino and the Inquisitor in their Immolator
On the other flank, I placed my Retributors in a wood, and moved up some Sisters in a Rhino and the Inquisitor in their Immolator
Things start to kick off on the left as the Arco's charge in
Things start to kick off on the left as the Arco’s charge in
They promptly munch everything (except the commander with the 2+ save!)
They promptly munch everything (except the commander with the 2+ save!)
On the right, I pop a Rhino and immobilise the Dreadnought
On the right, I pop a Rhino and immobilise the Dreadnought
My Inquisitor Lord is charged by the Assault Marines, but sends them packing after a few rounds of combat
My Inquisitor Lord is charged by the Assault Marines, but sends them packing after a few rounds of combat

The game ended with both of our armies badly bloodied and neither of us having managed to sieze a decisive advantage. I was, as always, rather pleased with my Arco-Flaggellants who munched alot  of marines in short order  and totallywasted my unit of Stormtroopers, who sat in a wood all game.

4 thoughts on “40K – Yes, I actually played a game!

  1. Haha…i always end up waisting a unit…so then I change their wargear (so they can snipe or hit out further), then i end up having the wrong wargear the next game.

    1. I think in this game it was just the awkwardness of having both Storm Troopers and Sisters in the same force – I find it much better to go pure one way or the other to maximise faith etc

  2. Lord tell me about it – my flash gits have yet to do ANYTHING in a game.Good job with the archo flagellants btw. Its always nice to see a sisters list.

    1. Yeah, they always do well for me when they hit combat, its just getting them there that is tricky!

      I am still playing with the Witch Hunters codex, so plenty of weirdness to keep me going

Leave a Reply

