BATREP – Thousand Sons vs. Maelstrom Beserkers Fleet

Hi guys,

First apologies, I have been bad and not been posting much. I know, I know, but real life has been turning the screws recently and thesis work has been ramping up.

Still, as an apology I offer you loads of pictures from my most recent game of BFG, possibly split across two posts. My friend Ben came over to play his newly painted / built Thousand Sons fleet, using the Chaos fleet list from the rulebook, while I decided to play with my new, but unpainted, Maelstrom fleet list. My fleet contained a Devastation (the Styx model stood in for it), two Slaughter Class Cruisers with Mark of Khorne, and three light cruisers from the Book of Nemesis – two Heretic class with Mark of Khorne and one Schismatic. The fleet relies on speed and manueverability to get in range to unleash firepower at close range before attempting to board the enemy.

The board lay-out

The board lay-out

My fleet - yes it is unpainted, and yes that is a Styx not a Devastation...

My fleet – yes it is unpainted, and yes that is a Styx not a Devastation…

Ben's fleet - I will try and get a list from him soon

Ben’s fleet – I will try and get a list from him soon

I get first turn and use it to bring my fleet towards the large yellow planet, planning on swinging round it and flanking Ben

I get first turn and use it to bring my fleet towards the large yellow planet, planning on swinging round it and flanking Ben

Two Slaughters in Ben's fleet

Two Slaughters in Ben’s fleet

Keeping my ships deliberately close to better utilise the short ranged batteries and to protect the weaker light cruisers

Keeping my ships deliberately close to better utilise the short ranged batteries and to protect the weaker light cruisers

Ben's first turn - he turns most of his fleet away from mine and towards the board edge, possibly to try and use his longer range

Ben’s first turn – he turns most of his fleet away from mine and towards the board edge, possibly to try and use his longer range

He also moves his Devastation off by itself hoping to set up some kind of crossfire - but to the hungry hungry beserkers of my fleet it looks like easy prey...

He also moves his Devastation off by itself hoping to set up some kind of crossfire – but to the hungry hungry beserkers of my fleet it looks like easy prey…

Tagged , ,

One thought on “BATREP – Thousand Sons vs. Maelstrom Beserkers Fleet

  1. […] here, and which made a appearance in a batrep versus my friend Ben’s Thousand Sons fleet (here, here, and here)? Well it has morphed slightly from a Chaos Renegade fleet with Khorne leanings […]

Leave a Reply

