MWIH – My Week in Hobby 2

Hi guys,

Welcome to the second post in this series, slightly less full than last week!

This week, on Wednesday, I played another game of Mighty Empire as a board game against two of my friends, Mike and Tom. It well well, although some issues cropped up with the way in which the realms are rolled up at the beginning of the game which put one player (me) at a severe disadvantage. Still the game played well with three players and it opened up some interesting avenues for further exploration.

The starting map
The starting map
End of the game
End of the game

Then on Saturday, I played a fun game of 40k versus my friend Ben. He is just getting back into using his 40k Thousand Sons, so we paired off his marines against a Witchhunter Inquisitor army. Just in case anyone is interested my 1500pt list was: Inquisitor Lord w/ CC retinue in a Rhino, Inquisitor w/ HBolter Servitor retinue, 5 x Death Cult Assassins, a Callidus Assassin, two units of 10 Stormtroopers with Plasma guns in Rhinos, two units of 5 Stormtroopers (one with 2 x Melta, one with 2 x Flamer), a Penitent Engine, and a mob of 18 Zealots with 3 Eviscerator Fanatics in it.

At the end of my first turn, with my Inquisitor Lord's ride having been blown up...
At the end of my first turn, with my Inquisitor Lord’s ride having been blown up…
One of Ben's sorcerors managed to turn himself into a spawn...
One of Ben’s sorcerors managed to turn himself into a spawn…
Before facing off against my Penitent Engine!
Before facing off against my Penitent Engine!
Zealots (from Chapter Approved, and played by my Necromunda Redemptionists) move into the middle of the board
Zealots (from Chapter Approved, and played by my Necromunda Redemptionists) move into the middle of the board
The junior Inquisitos stayed out of the fray directing some Heavy Bolter Servitors
The junior Inquisitos stayed out of the fray directing some Heavy Bolter Servitors
My Death Cult Assassins and Callidus ran rampant through the Thousand Sons
My Death Cult Assassins and Callidus ran rampant through the Thousand Sons

Last but not least, I have finally finished a formation of my EPIC Dark Angels army (that I started painting before the summer…) completing four stands of Assault Marines with a Chaplain character. The wash was still slightly wet when the photos were taken, and check out the difference in quality/size between the marines and the GW Chaplain model!

1
1
2
2
Close-up
Close-up
11 thoughts on “MWIH – My Week in Hobby 2

      1. Thats a shame, they looked awesome. I have plenty of Marines at the moment but always good to add variety to them and something different. My group of gamers near London are getting back into Epic and we are thinking of doing 30K Heresy. Should be fun.
        Love your posts by the way, spent most of last night reading through.

      2. Sorry! there was a big clamp down a couple of years back when GW turned the screws so alot of stuff went OOP.

        Great to hear of another EPIC group, I am in London fairly regularly, and should be movign there in the autumn. Heresy is easy to do in Epic as well – have you seen the new heresy lists being developed over at Taccoms? Lots of cheap marine stuff on ebay too.

        And thanks re: posts! Nice to know at least someone is reading 😀

  1. No worries, a shame since they don’t support the game anymore.
    Yeah seen the lists so going to look at getting some games sorted, possibly with proxies from other armies to begin with.

    Well we are around the Sutton and Kingston area. So if you are around and want a game let me know.

    I joined Taccom last night, just waiting for it to be activated.

    1. Yes it is a shame, but sadly pretty de riguer for GW.

      Activation can take a couple of days as they have to be done manually, give me a shout if it is still lagging in a while.

      1. Hi Gus,

        Not sure if you are able to help, my activation on Taccoms is still not sorted etc.

        Cheers

Leave a Reply

