Stormhammers

This week I would like to present what I think are the greatest, most retro, super heavy tanks around – the Stormhammer! I have three of these chubby SHT’s and they are my favourite. The rules are not great, but I love the style and the way thier entire purpose is clear. The Stormhammer is supposed to be one of the oldest and rarest Baneblade variants, dating right back into the mists of time. Generally suffering from a lack of spare parts or knowledge to maintain it, it is often relegated to serving as part of a planets PDF forces. However perhaps no other SHT can throw quite as much firepower downrange as the Stormhammer!

Stormhammer Company

In the rules a Stormhammer is an exceedingly short ranged tank that excels at launching a cover-busting barrage of fire at enemy infantry formations. While it can also perform against other targets – it tends not to measure up well outside its comfort zone. This SHT does not have any stats in the more usual Imperial Guard lists – it isn’t in the Steel Legion, Baran Siegemasters or Lost and the Damned lists – but stats for it appear both in the EPIC Siege supplement as part of the Mossinian forces and in the Collectors section of the EA rulebook.

Charge!

The paint scheme is, yet again, a black wash over the Army Painter Uniform Gray with details picked out either in Dark Angels Green or Scab Red. I have been trying out the new GW paints recently too and have been pleasantly surprised by how nice the couple of colours I have tried have been. I am looking forward to trying out the textured paints in the near future, as they could save me time and hassle sanding and texturing bases for EPIC miniatures.

In other news, I recently put an order in with a certain blue werewolf for two battle companies of Space Marines to form the basis of a new EPIC army – the 2nd & 3rd Companies of the Ultramarines Chapter. Now I know the UM as universally reviled as the poster-boys of WH40k but I don’t think the stigma extends into EPIC. Also I think the stark blue and white colour scheme will look really good at this small scale. I will put pics up as I get round to painting them (probably January next year… ), and keep you guys informed as I put together a list.

Also I should be getting another game in this weekend using Chroma’s Daemonworld army list from a while back. It is something I have been meaning to try for ages so I will try and remember to take some pics of it in action this weekend.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

